Meteor Shower

For awhile now I’ve had “Witness a meteor shower” on my bucket list. However, I could never seem to get that item crossed off. These shooting stars would come and go, but whenever they were around it was ALWAYS fucking cloudy! Every time I would have the days marked down in my calendar, have plans to drive up the bluffs, and watch. But Noooooo those stupid fluffy puffs of destruction would just roll in and ruin my day! I thought that was the case today too when I woke up this morning and it was raining.

 

Well, It finally went in my favor! The sun came out, burned all the fog away, and the sky was clear!

 

My friend Andrea* and I drove up to the bluffs with my current service dog Wally. It was perfect weather and I was so excited.

We picked out our spot, laid down and got ready for the flashy show. As we waited a few more people showed up and walked past us. A group of girls walked past and a few screamed “Omg! is that a dog!?!” No, it’s a crocodile, be careful. What else would it fucking be!? (They also thought the bugs flying in and out of the light were the meteors *face palm*) Then, as a couple walked past us, Wally decided to bark at them. He has a very intimidating bark, which is probably why they jumped about 10 feet in the air. I couldn’t help but bust out laughing right away. I tried apologizing, but it was hard getting “I’m sorry” out in between laughing. Oops.

 

Finally, the Meteors started! Even with all the light pollution, it was still an awesome thing to see. There were a lot, but only one really good one. I’m just happy to finally have seen one and get it crossed off the bucket list: Perseid Meteor Shower 2013.. Check!

This is exactly what the one looked like!

lyrid-meteor

 

On the long, dark walk back to the car there was a group of guys and girls walking towards us. One of the guys shouted out “Is that a buffalo!?!… Oh, I seriously though that was a buffalo!” Oh for the sake of humanity please tell me he was at least high off of something! Really? Yeah, don’t mind me. Just taking my buffalo for walk on a leash. No, dude, it’s a dog! A common house pet. But I guess a buffalo is close enough?

 

Dog or Buffalo??

the_buffalo_boys_buffalo

Things learned:

People may not be very bright… but at least the stars are brighter!

Clouds are not my friends.

 

-tcbl

2 thoughts on “Meteor Shower

Leave a Reply

